FixMyCryptoTax 1099-DA reconciler

Exchange guide · Robinhood

Robinhood 1099-DA (2026): What's on It, Why Cost Basis May Be Blank, How to Reconcile

Robinhood Crypto's Form 1099-DA: what it reports for 2025 and 2026, why transferred-in coins show zero basis and are sold first, how to add basis in the app, and how to map it to Form 8949.

Your Robinhood 1099-DA in 5 steps

  1. 01

    Open each crypto deposit you transferred in, then under Cost basis select View details and Add cost basis. Enter date, quantity and total cost.

  2. 02

    Ask Robinhood Support for your crypto order and transfer history. The regular account activity report leaves crypto out.

  3. 03

    Export the full history from every exchange or wallet you transferred coins from. That is where their basis lives.

  4. 04

    Remember Robinhood's order: unknown or zero-basis lots close first, then FIFO, and withdrawals close lots too.

  5. 05

    When the 1099-DA arrives, sort each row into Form 8949 box G, H, J or K and enter your real basis wherever it is blank or $0.

The form, box by box

What each box on Form 1099-DA means in plain English. The highlighted boxes are the ones that decide how you fill in Form 8949.

Filer's name, address, TIN Recipient's name, address, TIN Account number
Form 1099-DA Digital Asset Proceeds From Broker Transactions Applicable checkbox on Form 8949G · H · J · K · Y
1a Code for digital asset
1b Name of digital asset
1c Number of units
1d Date acquired
1e Date sold or disposed
1f Proceeds
1g Cost or other basis blank?
1h Accrued market discount
1i Wash sale loss disallowed
2 Check if basis reported to IRS
3a Gross or net proceeds reported
3b Check if proceeds from a QOF
4 Federal income tax withheld
5 Check if loss is not allowed
6 Gain or loss: short-term, long-term, ordinary
7 Check if only cash proceeds
8 Check if broker relied on customer-provided acquisition info
9 Check if noncovered security
10 Reserved
11a-c Optional reporting method (stablecoins, NFTs)
12a Number of units transferred in
12b Transfer-in date
13 Reserved
14-16 State information
Schematic, not the official form: box titles from the IRS Instructions for Form 1099-DA (rev. Apr 30, 2026), checked Oct 1, 2026. The real form is laid out differently and has copies for the IRS, you and the broker.
  1. Box 1b, 1c What was sold

    The coin and the number of units, to 18 decimal places. One row per sale (or per aggregated group under the optional methods).

  2. Box 1d, 1e When you bought and sold

    Box 1d can be blank: the broker leaves it empty when the units were bought on several dates, or for a noncovered sale where it doesn't know the date. Your holding period comes from your own records then.

  3. Box 1f Proceeds

    Gross proceeds, already reduced by the transaction costs of the sale. This is what goes in Form 8949 column (d).

  4. Box 1g Cost basis: the box that is often blank

    The broker may leave it blank when box 9 is checked. Blank means not reported, not $0. You enter your correct basis in Form 8949 column (e).

  5. Box 2 Basis reported to the IRS?

    Checked: the IRS has the broker's basis, so the row goes in Form 8949 box G or J. Unchecked: box H or K.

  6. Box 6 Short-term or long-term

    One year or less is short-term. If the broker can't tell, the "Applicable checkbox on Form 8949" field shows code Y and you decide from your purchase date.

  7. Box 8 Your own numbers

    Checked when the broker used acquisition details you gave it, such as basis you added for coins you transferred in.

  8. Box 9 Noncovered

    Coins bought before 2026, or bought elsewhere and transferred in. For these the broker doesn't have to report basis.

  9. Box 11a-c Aggregated rows

    Qualifying stablecoins and specified NFTs can be reported as yearly totals. If your total is $10,000 or less (stablecoins) or $600 or less (NFTs), the broker doesn't have to report them at all.

  10. Box 12a, 12b Transferred in

    How many of the units sold had been transferred into the account, and when. A filled 12b is a strong hint that the basis lives in another exchange's export.

On Robinhood's form, the rows to check first are the ones with box 9 checked and box 1g empty.

Covered vs noncovered on Robinhood

Covered basis reported

  • Crypto bought on Robinhood Crypto in 2026 or later and kept there (IRS definition).

Noncovered basis may be blank

  • Crypto transferred in: "we won't have the cost basis because this information isn't sent when transferring crypto."
  • Crypto bought before 2026. Robinhood also says 2026 reporting "will include transfers of crypto assets" without explaining further, so check each transferred lot.

Sources: Robinhood, Crypto tax FAQ; Robinhood, How to read your 1099-DA; IRS, Instructions for Form 1099-DA (2026).

Get your Robinhood files

  1. Robinhood app
  2. Tax documents: your 1099-DA and 1099-MISC
  3. Support chat: request crypto order and transfer history

The account activity CSV does not cover crypto: "Your futures, crypto, and spending account activity aren't included in these reports."

Source: Robinhood, Finding your reports and statements; CoinTracker, Robinhood integration.

Add missing basis in Robinhood

  1. Select the crypto deposit
  2. Cost basis: View details
  3. Add cost basis
  4. Enter purchase date, quantity and total cost
  5. Save

Source: Robinhood, Crypto tax FAQ.

Reconciler · Kraken + Coinbase

Coins came to Robinhood from Kraken or Coinbase?

The reconciler doesn't read Robinhood files yet. If your coins started on Kraken or Coinbase, their exports hold the purchase records: the reconciler finds the original cost for each lot so you can add it in Robinhood or enter it on Form 8949.

The full guide

Not tax advice. This page summarizes IRS instructions and Robinhood’s own help pages as of September 30, 2026. Robinhood may change its process before forms go out. Check with a tax professional for your situation.

Short version: Robinhood Crypto sends a Form 1099-DA for crypto sales and a 1099-MISC for rewards of $600 or more. Crypto you transferred into Robinhood arrives with no cost basis, and Robinhood closes those zero-basis lots first, before its normal first-in-first-out order. So even if you also bought coins on Robinhood, the first sales after a transfer-in can show blank or zero basis on your 1099-DA until you add the real purchase details.

What Robinhood sends you

FormWhat it coversSource
1099-DACrypto sales and other disposals on Robinhood CryptoRobinhood: Crypto tax FAQ
1099-MISCCrypto rewards of $600 or moreRobinhood: How to read your 1099-DA

Robinhood’s year-end cutoff for crypto trades is 11:59 PM UTC (6:59 PM ET) on December 31 (Robinhood FAQ). A trade at 8 PM ET on New Year’s Eve counts in the next tax year.

2025 vs 2026 on Robinhood

Tax yearReported to the IRSReported to you
2025Gross proceeds onlyGross proceeds and cost basis “where available”
2026Gross proceeds and cost basisSame. Robinhood adds: “Cost basis reporting will include transfers of crypto assets.”

Source: Robinhood: How to read your 1099-DA. Robinhood doesn’t explain that last sentence further. Under IRS rules, crypto transferred into a broker is a noncovered asset, and the broker doesn’t have to report its basis (IRS, Instructions for Form 1099-DA (2026)). Don’t assume a transfer-in will carry basis unless you entered it.

Why your Robinhood basis may be blank (or $0)

  1. Transfers in carry no basis. For crypto transferred from other providers, “we won’t have the cost basis because this information isn’t sent when transferring crypto” (Robinhood FAQ).
  2. Zero-basis lots go first. Robinhood closes lots FIFO, “either through sales or withdrawals,” with one exception: “tax lots with an unknown or zero (0) cost basis will be closed first before applying the FIFO methodology” (Robinhood FAQ). Withdrawals also close lots, so moving coins out changes which lots your later sales use.
  3. Stablecoins. Robinhood reports qualifying stablecoin sales on an aggregated basis, only once your total stablecoin proceeds pass $10,000 (Robinhood). Smaller totals may not appear at all, but they’re still reportable by you.

How to add missing basis inside Robinhood

Robinhood’s steps: select the deposit, then Cost basis > View details > Add cost basis, enter the purchase date, coin quantity and total cost, and save (Robinhood FAQ). For crypto sold in 2025 the cutoff was January 14, 2026, and Robinhood warned that “updates made after January 7 may delay your tax forms.” It hasn’t published the tax-year-2026 cutoff yet; expect a similar mid-January date and add details well before year-end.

When you enter basis for transferred crypto, “all tax lots for that crypto will be marked as ‘customer-provided’” (Robinhood). On the 1099-DA that corresponds to box 8, “broker relied on customer-provided acquisition information” (IRS i1099da). “In instances where we don’t have the cost basis, it’s your responsibility to calculate and report the proper cost basis on your tax return” (Robinhood FAQ).

Getting your Robinhood crypto history

This is harder than on most exchanges:

  • Robinhood’s account activity report (CSV) does not include crypto: “Your futures, crypto, and spending account activity aren’t included in these reports” (Robinhood: Finding your reports and statements).
  • Your 1099-DA and 1099-MISC are in the app’s tax documents.
  • CoinTracker’s guide says you can request crypto_account_orders and crypto_account_transfers CSV files from Robinhood Support (CoinTracker). We haven’t confirmed that on a Robinhood page. The column names those files use are tracked by the open-source BittyTax Robinhood parser (orders: UUID, Time Entered, Symbol, Side, Quantity, State, ...; transfers: id, created_at, currency_code, transfer_type, amount, network_fee, ...).
  • Robinhood also offers a realized gain/loss report through chat support (Robinhood). The page doesn’t say whether it covers crypto.

Request the files early. And export full history from wherever your transferred coins came from: that’s where their basis lives.

Reconciling Robinhood’s 1099-DA to Form 8949

Form 8949 has digital-asset boxes (IRS, Instructions for Form 8949):

Your 1099-DA rowHeld 1 year or lessHeld more than 1 yearColumn (e), basis
Basis reported to the IRS (box 2 checked)GJThe basis shown. Corrections go in (g) with code B
Basis blank, $0, or not reported (usually box 9 checked)HKYour correct basis
No 1099-DA for the saleILYour correct basis

Column (d) is the proceeds shown on the form, already net of transaction costs (IRS i1099da, box 1f). For a noncovered sale with no basis shown, the 8949 instructions say to “enter the correct basis of the property in column (e)” (IRS i8949). An acquisition date shown as “Various” means one sale combined several purchases; on Form 8949 you may write VARIOUS in column (b), but short-term and long-term parts still go on separate parts (IRS i8949).

Worked example (illustrative numbers)

  • Jun 1, 2024: buy 0.02 BTC on another exchange for $1,400.
  • Jan 5, 2026: buy 0.02 BTC on Robinhood for $1,800.
  • Feb 1, 2026: transfer the 2024 coins (0.02 BTC) into Robinhood. Robinhood records them with no basis.
  • May 1, 2026: sell 0.02 BTC on Robinhood. Proceeds after costs: $2,000.

Robinhood closes the zero-basis lot first, so the sale uses the transferred coins, not January’s purchase. The 1099-DA row is noncovered with basis blank or $0. Your records show those coins were bought Jun 1, 2024, so the sale is long-term: box K, column (d) $2,000, column (e) $1,400, gain $600. Filed with $0 basis, the gain would be $2,000: $1,400 of tax-free basis lost. The January coins stay in your account with their $1,800 basis.

Disclosure: /go/ links are affiliate or product links. If you buy, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Sources (checked 2026-09-30; IRS and Robinhood crypto tax FAQ re-checked 2026-10-01)

Common mistakes

  1. Expecting your Robinhood purchase to be sold first

    Robinhood closes "tax lots with an unknown or zero (0) cost basis" first, then applies FIFO. A sale right after a transfer-in can use the transferred coins, not the ones you bought on Robinhood. (Robinhood, Crypto tax FAQ)

  2. Forgetting that withdrawals close lots

    Robinhood uses lots "either through sales or withdrawals." Moving coins out changes which lots your later sales use. (Robinhood, Crypto tax FAQ)

  3. Filing a blank or $0 basis as is

    "In instances where we don't have the cost basis, it's your responsibility to calculate and report the proper cost basis on your tax return." (Robinhood, Crypto tax FAQ)

  4. Missing the New Year's Eve cutoff

    Robinhood's year-end cutoff for crypto trades is 11:59 PM UTC (6:59 PM ET) on December 31. A trade at 8 PM ET that night counts in the next tax year. (Robinhood, Crypto tax FAQ)

Questions people ask

What does Robinhood report on Form 1099-DA?

For 2025, gross proceeds to the IRS, and proceeds plus cost basis "where available" to you. For 2026, gross proceeds and cost basis to both.

Source: Robinhood, How to read your 1099-DA

Does Robinhood report crypto to the IRS?

Yes. Robinhood Crypto sends Form 1099-DA for crypto sales and other disposals, and Form 1099-MISC for crypto rewards of $600 or more.

Source: Robinhood, How to read your 1099-DA

Why is my Robinhood cost basis $0 or blank?

Crypto transferred in from another provider arrives without basis, because "this information isn't sent when transferring crypto." Add it yourself under Cost basis on the deposit.

Source: Robinhood, Crypto tax FAQ

How do I add cost basis on Robinhood?

Select the deposit, then under Cost basis select View details and Add cost basis. Enter the purchase date, coin quantity and total cost, and save. Robinhood marks those lots as customer-provided.

Source: Robinhood, Crypto tax FAQ

Is there a deadline to add cost basis on Robinhood?

For crypto sold in 2025 the cutoff was January 14, 2026, and Robinhood warned that "updates made after January 7 may delay your tax forms." It has not published the tax-year-2026 date yet.

Source: Robinhood, Crypto tax FAQ

Which lots does Robinhood sell first?

Unknown or zero-basis lots close first. After that, FIFO.

Source: Robinhood, Crypto tax FAQ

Box 1g (cost basis) is blank. Do I report $0?

No. A blank box 1g means the broker did not report basis, not that your basis is zero. For a noncovered sale with no basis shown, the Form 8949 instructions say to enter the correct basis of the property in column (e). Keep the purchase records that support it.

Source: IRS, Instructions for Form 8949

Which Form 8949 box do I use?

Digital assets use boxes G to L. Basis reported to the IRS: G (held one year or less) or J (more than one year). Basis not reported: H or K. No 1099-DA at all: I or L. The 1099-DA has an "Applicable checkbox on Form 8949" field with the letter the broker expects; code Y means the broker could not tell short-term from long-term, so you decide from your own purchase date.

Source: IRS, Instructions for Form 1099-DA (2026)

Why are some stablecoin sales not on my Robinhood form?

Robinhood reports qualifying stablecoin sales on an aggregated basis only once your total stablecoin proceeds pass $10,000. Smaller totals may not appear, but you still report them.

Source: Robinhood, How to read your 1099-DA

How do I download my Robinhood crypto history?

The account activity report skips crypto. Your 1099-DA and 1099-MISC are in the app's tax documents. CoinTracker's guide says Robinhood Support can send crypto order and transfer CSVs; Robinhood's own pages don't confirm that, so ask early.

Source: Robinhood, Finding your reports and statements

Fix it before you file

  1. Free

    1099-DA reconciler

    Matches transfers between Kraken and Coinbase, shows gains by lot method and lists the sales missing basis. Runs in your browser.

    Check my 1099-DA free
  2. $19 early bird

    Form 8949 export

    $19 early bird until Jan 31, 2027, then $29 per tax year. Any number of transactions · 14-day refund. Every sale exported with its Form 8949 box, plus the audit trail and a check against your 1099-DA.

    Run it free, then export
  3. Free preview

    Koinly

    For more exchanges, wallets, DeFi or NFTs. You can import and preview gains free before paying for the report (koinly.io/pricing).

    Try Koinly free

    We earn a commission if you sign up through this link.

Not tax advice; check with a tax professional for your situation.